Tell Congress: End Military and Police Aid to Honduras

Print Friendly and PDF


The human rights situation in post-coup Honduras has gone from bad to worse. At CCR, we regularly receive alarming reports of assassinations, new threats, and mass repression that the movement in Honduras is facing. The US government is actively supporting this repression through direct financing of Honduras’ police and military. A group of Congress members have initiated a letter to Secretary of State Clinton, urging the State Department to denounce the human rights violations in Honduras and, significantly, to end aid to Honduras’ police and military.


We urgently need you to contact your representative before the deadline, May 25, and ask that they sign on to this Congressional letter. Please see below for a list of signers thus far and a list of key targets.  You can easily send an email via our website asking your representative to sign on. Also-- especially if your representative is one of our targets-- we urge you to call in addition to sending an email as this will demonstrate even more concern from constituents.

Please send an email to your representative and access their phone number by clicking here and entering your zipcode. You can also reach your representative's office through the congressional switchboard: 202-225-3121

After you email your member of the House of Representatives in Congress, please call the Washington office of your representative, and ask to speak to the foreign policy aide.  If the aide is not there, ask to leave a message on their voice mail. Here is sample language to use for your phone call:

“My name is ____ and I live in your district in [_your city or town_]. I am calling to ask Representative ____ to sign the McGovern-Schakowsky-Farr letter regarding human rights abuses and military aid in Honduras. I’d like to know whether Representative ____  will sign this important letter. You can reach me at [_your number_]. You can contact Representative McGovern's office for a copy of the letter. Thank you.”
List of key Members of Congress to contact (if you live in these districts please call you representative as well as sending an email)

Bob Filner (CA)
Laura Richardson (CA)
Linda Sanchez (CA)
Xavier Becerra (CA)
Henry Waxman (CA)
Lucile Roybal-Allard (CA)
Adam Schiff (CA)
Karen Bass (CA)
Jared Polis (CO)
Rosa DeLauro (CT)
Frederica Wilson (FL)
Sanford Bishop (GA)
Luis Gutierrez (IL)
Pete Visclosky (IN)
Stephen Lynch (MA)
Ed Markey (MA)
Richard Neal (MA)
John Tierney (MA)
Barney Frank (MA)
Elijah Cummings (MD)
Chellie Pingree (ME)
Carolyn Kilpatrick (MI)
Keith Ellison (MN)
Betty McCollum (MN)
Tim Walz (MN)
Russ Carnahan (MO)
Emmanuel Cleaver (MO)
David Price (NC)
Donald Payne (NJ)
Jose Serrano (NY)
Gregory Meeks (NY)
Yvette Clarke (NY)
Jerry Nadler (NY)
Nita Lowey (NY)
Nydia Velázquez (NY)
Marcy Kaptur (OH)
Earl Blumenauer (OR)
Mike Doyle (PA)
Chaka Fattah (PA)
James Langevin (RI)
David Cicilline (RI)
Bobby Scott (VA)
Jim Moran (VA)
Norm Dicks (WA)
Gwen Moore (WI)

List of Members of Congress who have already signed on (if your representative has signed on you can still call to thank them!)

James P. McGovern (MA)
Janice D. Schakowsky (IL)
Sam Farr (CA)
Maurice D. Hinchey (NY)
John Lewis (GA)
John Conyers, Jr.(MI)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
Jesse L. Jackson, Jr. (IL)
Anna G. Eshoo (CA)
Danny K. Davis (IL)
Jim McDermott (WA)
Lynn Woolsey (CA)
Raul Grijalva (AZ)
Betty Sutton (OH)
Peter Welch (VT)
George Miller (CA)
Maxine Waters (CA)
Hank Johnson (GA)
John Garamendi (CA)
Barbara Lee (CA)
Michael Michaud (ME)
Mike Capuano (MA)
Dennis Kucinich (OH)
Louise Slaughter (NY)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Peter Stark (CA)
John Olver (MA)
Mike Honda (CA)
Mike Quigley (IL)
Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Steve Cohen (TN)
Peter DeFazio (OR)
Alcee Hastings (FL)
Donna Edwards (MD)
Jackie Speier (CA)
Bobby Rush (IL)
Lacy Clay (MO)